Cha-Cha-Changes…

Well, well, well…isn’t it interesting how you can see something directly in front of you, but not see it at all?  Last week I wrote about motion sickness…it made great sense to me, but of course I was looking retrospectively.  Nothing wrong with that, retrospection gives us a clearer picture of experiences God uses to grow us.  The trick is future application!

When I wrote last week’s entry, in my mind I was thinking, “Boy, there are a lot of changes on the horizon! Not worry, Celeta – your focus is exactly where it needs to be!”  Right…

Later in the week I came across a note/journal entry from two years ago that spoke of changes and how God needs to take me completely out of my comfort zone and put me in a scenario where I would have no bearing…the result? Increasing my dependence on Him.

When I read the entry I thought, “Wow! Isn’t that interesting?”  Originally, I thought it meant everything I knew – every facet of my physical existence would be turned on end… Whew! What a relief to realize that although my life was changing dramatically, God wasn’t taking my out of my world, He was bringing someone in to my world to shake things up – I can do that kind of change!  Not so fast, Sparky…as quickly as plans came into view, they started changing…ah geez…that motion sickness was setting in again!

Insecurities seem to be bubbling up like there’s no tomorrow…yet in announcing changes to family and friends, I am reminded of my primary objective…to fulfill God’s purpose in my life.  Yes, that is the desire of my heart…could someone please send the memo to my flesh????

What to do? Focus…or rather Re-Focus on God’s promises…

When I start thinking “I can’t seem to figure things out!” remind myself He will direct my steps…

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.” Proverbs 3:5-6

When I start thinking, “this is too much – it’s too hard” remind myself to persevere – He will see me through…

“Be strong and courageous, and do the work. Do not be afraid or discouraged, for the LORD God, my God, is with you. He will not fail you or forsake you until all the work for the service of the temple of the LORD is finished. ” 2 Chron 28:20

In other words DON’T GIVE UP! No one ever said change is easy…it is however, essential to growth.  My emotions are like a see-saw and even though I’m still struggling with desires of the flesh and desperately trying understand what God is laying out before me, I have to remember and find comfort in the fact that He’s the one who has written the change order, He’s REALLY good at His job, and He will get me where I’m going!

 

 

Struggling with doubt? Check out Renee Swope’s A Confident Heart

Leave a comment